Recipe ReDux: Watermelon Sorbet

When I first found out this month’s Recipe ReDux theme, frozen desserts, I was a little worried. First of all, I don’t make dessert very often – don’t get me wrong, I eat plenty of it, I just buy it instead! Second, I don’t have an ice cream maker or popsicle molds, so all the ideas that originally came to mind wouldn’t work. But as I continued to think about what I would make, I realized simplicity was the way to go. Plus, I wanted to make something that most people could easily whip up without having special gadgets taking up room in their kitchens.

Watermelon sorbet sounds like it would be a lot more complex to make than it actually was. This recipe is so quick and easy, only requires a blender and ramekins, and the result is a refreshing treat that the whole family can enjoy. An added bonus: it’s low in calories and a great source of the antioxidants vitamin A and lycopene too! (Find out more of the nutritional benefits of watermelon.)

watermelon sorbet

Ready to serve!

Watermelon Sorbet
Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cups watermelon cubes
  • 3 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Combine the sugar and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the sugar is completely dissolved. (Since there is very little sugar, this will happen quickly. Keep an eye on it to make sure the water doesn’t evaporate.) Remove from the heat and set aside.
  2. In a blender, combine the watermelon cubes, lemon juice, and simple syrup. Blend until no watermelon chunks remain.

making watermelon sorbet

  1. Divide the mixture evenly among four ramekins. Cover with plastic wrap and freeze for at least three hours. Enjoy!
watermelon sorbet

Watermelon sorbet before freezing

Nutrition Facts (per serving): 35 calories, 9 g carbohydrate, 8 g sugar (only 3 g added sugar), .5 g protein, 0 g fat

For more delicious frozen desserts, check out these great recipes from my fellow ReDuxers!

20 responses to “Recipe ReDux: Watermelon Sorbet

  1. Hi Jessica, Such a pretty and simple recipe. It sounds wonderfully refreshing!

    Glad to connect through Recipe Redux!

  2. Jessica, you and I were thinking along the same lines as we developed our frozen fruit recipe this month. I, too, created a sorbet using peaches, strawberries & banana, or mango & pineapple. You don’t need an ice cream maker and you get a wonderfully fruity, sweet, easy dessert.

  3. Mmmmm. Did you have to scrape it every few hours to keep it semi-soft or was it good to go after just freezing?

    • nutritioulicious

      I didn’t touch it once I put it in the freezer and it came out more like Italian ices – not soft at all. But very refreshing!

  4. simple and delicious… great idea!

  5. Awesome, fresh fruit sorbet is phenomenal in the summer. This watermelon recipe looks awesome! Thanks for the recipe.

  6. Jessica. You’ve hit on my favourite summer fruit – watermelon. I love it in huge chuncks or in a salad with feta and mint. Off to try your sorbet too.

  7. Mmm… This looks so refreshing, and I love how simple it is. Definitely want to make this!

  8. I love this idea, and you dont need an icecream maker!

  9. How easy! The only problem is that my blender just broke (or shall I say, blew up). My kids are beside themselves. They love smoothies and haven’t had one in over a week! Anyway, I love your recipe, and when I get my new blender, I plan to make it 🙂

    • nutritioulicious

      Oh no! Time for a new blender!! You can make the sorbet using a food processor too, but I don’t think that will help with your smoothies! Good luck and hope you get to make all of your blender treats again soon!

  10. Jessica- I just made your recipe into popsicles for the kids! My 3 y old helped with the simple, sweet recipe. Love the kick of lemon!

    • nutritioulicious

      Oh, so happy to hear that Serena! Thanks for telling me. I originally wanted to make it into popsicles, but didn’t have molds. I am sure they were great that way. And I love that your 3 year old helped you (you know i’m a fan of children cooking 😉 http://amzn.to/mUw9vn)!

  11. My husband and mom are huge watermelon fans. Definitely need to make this for them!

Leave a comment