Recipe ReDux: Butternut Squash Cream Cheese Spread

This month’s Recipe ReDux theme is “Dressing for Success.” While the original idea (by my friend and fellow RD Danielle at Food Confidence) was salad dressings, the theme was expanded to include spreads and condiments.

I have posted a bunch of dip and spread recipes in the past so I needed to come up with something new.  A few years ago I made a delicious pumpkin cream cheese dip that I served with cinnamon pita chips – it was really delicious! I couldn’t find my recipe for it, but decided to recreate it for this month’s post. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to roast, scoop, and puree fresh pumpkin and canned pumpkin isn’t so easy to find right now. (A couple of years ago there was a shortage of canned pumpkin and apparently this year should be better, but I had no luck finding any yet. Maybe it’s just too early in the season.) I did however find canned butternut squash, so I used that in place of the pumpkin and the end result was still delicious.

Using canned squash or pumpkin with no added ingredients and low-fat cream cheese keeps this recipe low-calorie, low-fat, and rich in beta-carotene. Portions can be kept small because a little bit of this dip goes a long way.

cream cheese spread recipe

Butternut Squash Cream Cheese Spread
Serves 20; Serving Size: ~ 2 tablespoons

Ingredients: 

  • 1 15-ounce can butternut squash
  • 4 ounces low-fat cream cheese (half a bar)
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Ground cinnamon, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, combine the butternut squash and cream cheese. Blend until well combined. Add salt and cinnamon to taste and blend well.
  2. Chill and serve with pita chips, crackers, or vegetables.

butternut squash cream cheese spread recipe

Nutrition Facts (per 2 tbsp): 23 calories, 1 g total fat, 1 g saturated fat, 2 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 1 g sugar, 1 g protein, 4 mg cholesterol, 40 mg sodium

Check out these other great “Dressing for Success” recipes from my fellow ReDuxers!

15 responses to “Recipe ReDux: Butternut Squash Cream Cheese Spread

  1. Great idea! I think it would be yummy on pumpkin bread or nut bread. 🙂

  2. I forgot about this dip. But it’s a great one to start serving at parties (and for snacks with my kids) now that autumn is upon us! Thanks for this great idea!

  3. Love this idea! I had a problem finding canned pumpkin a couple of weeks ago, but had no problem this past weekend. Can’t wait to try this!

  4. Looks great and so easy. Love all the dip ideas this month!

  5. OK , could this be easier but looks so divine?? I like have having the option of using pumpkin or butternut squash, too. My daughter will like making this, too 🙂

  6. I’ve never bought canned butternut squash. I was going to ask, how you cut the squash…we roasted some last night, and it’s such a bugger to dice!

    • I actually had never bought canned butternut squash before either! I normally roast the squash whole and scoop out the inside after and mash it or puree it, or I cut it in half lengthwise and then roast it, but it can be difficult to cut through when raw!

  7. Bet you could make this with any matter of pureed squashes/pumpkin etc…great, simple, but indulgent recipe. Also nice blog layout! (I think we must use the same WP theme!)

    • thanks!! I’m actually in the process of having my whole site redone (will be live very soon!) so my blog will be on a new platform soon. But I have loved this WP theme and it has worked great for me for so long!

  8. I think canned pumpkin (or in this case butternut squash) is one of the all time best (read: unadulterated) canned foods out there. No apologies needed! This sounds like a wonderful dip for apples for my boys!

Leave a comment